The Drakensberg Mountains

The Drakensberg Mountains

The Drakensberg Mountains

The Drakensberg area is an area so stunning that you imagination will fall short. The Drakensberg Mountains are fondly referred to as “the Berg”  Central Berg,and can be divided into 3 sub regions.

The Northern Drakensberg includes Royal Natal, the Amphitheatre, the Tugela Falls, Cathedral Peak, Mweni, the Didima Valley and Bergville. The Central Drakensberg includes Monks Cowl, Injisuthi, Champagne Valley, Giants Castle, Winterton and Estcourt. And The Southern Drakensberg consists of Kamberg, Vergelegen, Cobham, Sani Pass, Bushmans nek, Himeville and Underberg.

These Mountains are truly awe-inspiring  and stretch well over 200 kilometers forming a natural. The Drakensberg  is riddled with incredible waterfalls, rock pools, mountain streams, caves, hiking trails and crisp mountain air. Its little wonder that the berg draws so many tourists each year.

Drakensberg Valley

Dramatic Drakensberg Valley

The Drakensberg Mountains are also a  world heritage site, known as Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park. Not only does it boast some of the most incredible scenic beauty, but it also has thousands of examples of San rock paintings in caves throughout the mountains.

Aside from hiking, spectacular rock art and relaxing, the Drakensberg offers much to do. There are horse trails, canopy tours, white water rafting, abseiling, helicopter flips, microlight flights, local arts and crafts and hot air ballooning